The Science Scholarship


Owais Mian, Victoria Park S.S., Toronto, (l) and Jeffrey Palumbo, Central Peel Secondary School, Toronto (r) received the 2013 RCI Science Scholarship.

The objective of the RCI Science Scholarship is to enable one or more superior secondary school graduates in the Toronto area, who want to pursue a career in science but might otherwise be unable to do so due to financial constraints, to attend university.

The amount awarded is $5,000. This is intended to cover first year tuition and incidental fees at the Ontario university of the recipient’s choice. The award is for one academic year only and is not renewable. $2,000 will be paid on the recipient’s acceptance by the university (two weeks before the first instalment of fees is due), $ 2,000 on December 15, and $1,000 on March 1.

Payments are conditional on the recipient being enrolled in university, in a science-oriented program, and attending classes regularly. Visa students are not eligible for the scholarship.

Candidates may not apply for this award. Rather, one or more secondary schools in the Toronto region will be selected by the RCI from districts where the incidence of students experiencing financial constraints is relatively high. Candidates will then be chosen in consultation with the science faculty at each school.

Recipients of the scholarship are:

1996: Thai Yen Ly Bloor C. I. Western
1997: Martin Chijani Central Technical School Toronto
1998: Senthil Namasivayam Central H.S. of Commerce Ottawa
1999: Duyen Luong Danforth C. + T. I. Toronto
2000: Vathany Kulasingam Ursula Franklin Academy Toronto
2001: Donna Cheung Harbord C. I. Ryerson
2002: Asiya Basirahmed Munshi Eastern Commerce Toronto
2003: Matei A. Zaharia Jarvis C.I. Waterloo
2004: Mudassar Ahmad Monarch Park C.I. McMaster
2005: Steven Kim Emery C. I. Waterloo
2006: Sara Elsadati Marc Garneau C. I. Toronto
2007: Himali Patel Thistletown C. I. Toronto
2008: Ted Liu C.W. Jeffery C.I. Toronto
Leah Robertson Pope John Paul II C.S.S. Toronto
Tian (Thompson) Kai Gao Jarvis C.I. Toronto
Jun (Sunny) Yin North Albion C.I. Toronto
2009: Ai Zhou Wang Georges Vanier S.S. Toronto
Rishikesh Benegal Georges Vanier S.S Toronto
2010: Sukriti Bhardwaj Downsview S.S. McMaster
Jacqueline Conway Northern S.S. Toronto
2011: Jagdeep Gill George Harvey C.I. Ryerson
Shane Lawrence Harold M. Brathwaite S.S. Waterloo
2012: Ann Kim Thich Harbord C.I. Toronto
Sapna Kukkar Blessed Mother Teresa C.S.S. Toronto
2013: Owais Mian Victoria Park S.S. McMaster
Jeffrey Palumbo Central Peel Secondary School Waterloo
 2014: Kofi Nkansah James Cardinal McGuigan C.S.S. York
Elizabeth Ambachew Monarch Park C.I. Toronto
 2015: Riya Bhat North Albion C.I. York
Matthew Tullio St. John Paul Secondary School Toronto

Recipients of the Roy Pearson Bursary are:

2012 Ying Zhao Harbord C.I. University of Waterloo
2013 Rishita Gupta Victoria Park S.S. Western University
2014 Betty Nwaogwugwu James Cardinal McGuigan C.S.S. York University
2015 Sunaina Saadat North Albion C.I. McMaster